The J - you belong here

OC Jewish Sports Hall of Fame 2014

Congratulations to the honorees of the 5th Biennial

Orange County Jewish Sports Hall of Fame

Meet our 2014 Honorees:


Kenny Bernstein,
Drag Racer & NASCAR / IndyCar team owner
Nicknamed “The King of Speed,” Kenny is the first driver to break 300 mph in the standing-start quarter mile. During his driving career he won 69 NHRA national events, four consecutive Budweiser King Funny Car championships (1985-1988) and two Top Fuel championships (1996 & 2001). As a race team owner, he is the first and only to have collected wins in each of America’s three major motorsport series: NHRA drag racing, NASCAR, and CART (IndyCar).

CamiLevin-picCamille (Cami) Levin,
US U23 Women’s Soccer & NCAA D1 Champion
Cami was the recipient of the Scholar-Athlete award in 2008, as a student at Tarbut V’Torah High School in Irvine. She went on to captain Stanford’s Division 1 National Championship women’s soccer team and was an All-American first team. Cami now plays professional soccer for the Sydney Wanderers in Australia and Swedish Champions, Gothenburg F.C. She currently serves as the captain of the U23 USA national team.

JerrySimon-picJerry Simon,
Jerry played four seasons of Varsity Basketball at the University of Pennsylvania from 1986-90. His team was crowned Ivy League Champions in 1986-87 and Jerry was named All-Ivy League honorable mention as well as second team co-captain. He represented Team USA at the 1989 World Maccabi Games and, after college, played professional basketball in Israel. He won the Israeli Championship at Gaili Elyon in 1992-93 and went on to play 10 years in Israel for various clubs.


Congratulations to the 2014 Scholar Athlete Honorees:

Larisa Bokota
Evan Bozanic
Katie Eisendrath
Brandon Fine
Talya Glass
Joshua Glickman
Alexandra Goldhammer
Daniel Halprin
Libby Jubas
Allison Katz
Jake Lebovic
Ryan Maister
Erin Scheftz
Noah Shohet
Matthew Shulman
Jacob Steinberg
Corey Tatel
Thalie Timsit
Shayna Vayser

OC Jewish Sports Hall of Fame Committee

Event Chairs: Larry Kaplan and Jordan Kaplan
Hal Altman
Daniel Ast
Mark Berman
Jim Berman
Dan Bernstein
Sam Cohen
Allison Eisendrath
Steve Eisendrath
Dan Ezra
Marc Franklin
Gali Horev
Robin Kaplan
Stephen Kaufman
Heather Kline
Jon Kline
Jay Kotin
Ira Lebovic
Bob Quinn
John Rosenbaum
Steve Silverstein
Mark Susson
Dana Susson
David Susson
Mark Tunkel
Michael Wagschal
Carol Winer
Irv Chase, Chairman of the Board | Dan Bernstein, President and CEO

© Merage Jewish Community Center of Orange County | 1 Federation Way, Suite 200, Irvine, CA 92603
(949) 435-3400 | All Rights Reserved